The Battle of the Bookshelf

Image

Shortly after I moved out of my parents, I stumbled upon a video called “To build a better gamer”. The video went into depth about various social issues relating to Gamers. It was down to earth and heartfelt, with one line hitting me hard. “…if video games are all you know. Then you are a boring person.” That hit me like a trout to the jugular.

Since then I have spent the last two years forcibly culturing myself….

And I loved every minute of it.

I’ve been watching a wealth of older movies, The Maltese Falcon was incredible as well as Casablanca, and even Blazing Saddles. Too this day I am annoyed it took me so long to see these gems.

Now I had always read books. I grew up with them, such books as Asimov’s Foundation series featured predominately in my youth. But now I had set out on a mission: To read the classics. The great dusty tomes with pages that on average crossed the thousand page threshold. But how did I find them? How did I go about making a list of classic books to read?

Google. Yes, when in doubt, always, ALWAYS resort to Google. I typed in “List of classic must read books” and in seconds I had a goal. I didn’t have a goal set in stone, by that I mean I didn’t say “I am going to read fifty of these, or ALL THE DICKENS!” But never the less I had a goal now.

That summer I spent what must have been months trying to muscle through Atlas Shrugged, and then Guns, Germs, and Steel, and Nabokov’s Lolita. (Those were adventures all in themselves that I’ll make a post about one day.)

That was when I found a sale happening at a book store. 51 classic for 200$ (or it might have been 250$) It was an enjoyable challenge lugging this heavy cardboard box so full of books that I could hardly carry it, only to have to do it twice over since the books couldn’t all fit in one box. Now I had a harder goal: Finish these books! I only finished about 5 of them so far, starting with the beastly thick Anna Karenina might not have been the best first pick. At the moment I’ve been reading through David Copperfield, and have been surprisingly entertained by it.

But in that book was one character that gave me chills. He was exactly like an old friend of mine and when the (to me) expected twist happened, It hit me all the harder. The more things change over the years, the more they stay the same.

In my next post I’ll go into detail on who it is.

(Edit: In hindsight I realized this looked pretty negative on gaming. I still play video games and still love them, but now I have been endeavoring to broaden my horizons.)

About Albedosrighthand

A young writer who treads the line between gamer and literary nutball.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

