HD Rereleases, my secret passion

ImageI love HD collections of games. Or to put it more precisely I like the whole ‘collection’ idea of multiple older games being released on one disc. In my youth, the only games I was able to play were at friend’s or cousin’s houses. It was there that I experienced Mario, Megaman, GTA 3, Final Fantasy 7, etc, etc…I did eventually get a PS2 but it was when I was too young to have a job. I wasn’t buying games until the ps2 was just about at its end. This meant that even if I had experienced some of the classic games, I never had a chance to really own or finish them. My only option then was overpriced used copies on ebay…

…And then the HD collections started showing up. It was like Christmas and Hanukkah rolled into one. The first one I got was the Metal Gear Solid Collection. It was exceptional value for my money since out of the three games in it I had only owned the third. That’s right folks, I finally got to see the bat-shit crazy last hour of MGS 2.

However I can see why some might view these re-releases as a cash grab. I got burned when it came to the Silent Hill collection. The only Silent Hill Game I’ve played was the first on a *COUGH*EMULATOR*COUGH* so I thought it was a great idea to get both the second and third at the same time.

The voices didn’t sync with the character’s lip flaps. Worse yet the voices came before the flaps, so a character would shout, point a gun at a monster and pull the trigger, long after I heard it.

It did get patched though, after a long time. I still joke that I finished both games a week before the patch came out.

When it comes to HD Collections or just re-released collections in total I feel the good outweighs the bad though. Without it I’d never have actually played the sly cooper series, and if I hadn’t played that then I’d never have bought the newest one and enjoyed it so much.

Unfortunately the genie is out of the bottle and now everyone wants all their favorite game series as HD collections. More will definitely be made but if developers and publishers rush them they will only end up with buggy messes.

What I am hoping for now is a .Hack HD collection, and a Persona HD, and, and, and, and…

About Albedosrighthand

A young writer who treads the line between gamer and literary nutball.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

